The Southold Historical Society is one
of the leading cultural institutions located on the
North Fork of Long Island, New York. Founded in
1960, the Society is dedicated to preserving and
presenting the rich history of our region. To do
this, the Society maintains a headquarters and archive,
as well as a number of historically significant
buildings which exhibit some of the Society's vast
collections. For more information on upcoming
events and programs watch this page or click on one of
the links at the left-hand side of your screen.
At the 2013 Candlelight Tour Tree Lighting!
Holiday Fair to take place
Join us for the Annual
10/6/2014 - "No
Peeking" Prostitution Exhibit to Open!
Join us at the Fall
Return to the North Fork!
Book on Plum Island
Society Book Wins
~ ~ ~
~ N E W
B O O K S ~
Murder on Long Island:
A 19th Century Tale of Tragedy Revenge -
Herman N. Hyneman: A
Jewish Artist Rediscovered -
A World Unto Itself:
The Remarkable History of Plum Island,
New York -
~ ~ ~
HERE for ways YOU can Volunteer at the
for information on the camp PINECREST DUNES!
The Southold Historical Society was founded in 1960 to "promote
interest in and education about the history of Southold and to bring together
those persons who desire to discover, acquire, preserve, maintain, and exhibit
historic sites, buildings, and relics."
The Henry W. Prince Building
Houses the Maureen Ostermann Administrative Center,
Archives, Museum Gift Shop, and the Treasure Exchange
In 1940 Southold celebrated its 300th Anniversary. During the decade
that followed an urge to create an organization to preserve and record that
history began to take hold. By the mid 1950's the Historical Committee of
the Southold-Peconic Civic Association was beginning the work that the Society would
eventually take over.
In February of 1960 the Association met and voted to make the Historical
Committee a separate entity. The Southold Historical Society was presented with its
provisional charter in April of 1960 and Mrs. Ann Hallock Currie-Bell
(1897-1964) was elected as the first President. The Society received its
permanent charter from the University of the State of New York in 1965.
The Society is easy to reach either by phone, fax, or email. Our
Headquarters and Office is located on the north side of Main Street directly
across from Rothman's Department Store in Southold. The office is open
M-F, 9am-4pm, or by appointment. The Archives are open on Tuesdays, 9-3
and by appointment.
- Telephone Numbers
- Museum Complex 631-765-5500
- Horton Point Lighthouse 631-765-5500
- Society Office
- Treasure Exchange
- Reichert Family Center Gallery 631-765-8821
- Physical Address (Society Office, UPS/FEDEX Deliveries)
- 54325 Main Road, Southold, NY 11971
- Postal Address
P.O. Box 1, Southold,
- Electronic Mail
- General Information: Email the
Webmaster: Email the Webmaster
Research Queries: Email
the Research Assistant
Email the Collections Manager